Design a site like this with
Get started

The Hindu history of Afghanistan

Map of provinces of Afghanistan

The provinces of Afghanistan. Many of them STILL retain older Sanskrit names:

Balkh = Bahlika
Nangarhar = Nagarahara
Kapisa = Kapisa
Laghman = Lampaka
Kabul = Kubha
Badakhshan = Dvyakshayana
Ghor = Giri
Bamiyan = Varmayana
Wardak = Vartaka

The names of all these places are found in ancient Sanskrit literature.


Published by True Indology

An archive of True Indology's social media posts pertaining to Indian history and culture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: